New York City Marathon

The NYC Marathon


The New York City Marathon is an annual marathon (26.219 mi or 42.195 Km) that take its coursed through the five boroughs of New York City (Stanten Island, Brooklyn, Queens, Bronx and Manhattan)

Wollman Ice Rink by Central Park Tours
TCS New York City Marathon New York City Marathon

The race is organized by New York Road Runners Club and has been run every year since 1970, with the exceptions of 2012 due to a landfall of Hurracaine Sandy, and in 2020 due to the worldwide Corona Virus (COVID) outbreak.

The Marathon takes place on the First Sunday of November of each year and attracts professional competitor and amateurs from all over the world.

New York City Marathon Founder.

Fred Lebow member of the NYRR, co-founded The New York City Marathon in 1970, which now is a major event and of the largest marathons nationwide and in the world.

The Finish Line of The New York City Marathon

The race finishes at 67th Street on West Drive, near Tavern on the Green in Central Park.

Setting the Records

The winner of the first race 1970, Gary Muhrcke a New York City fireman finished with a time of 2:31:38

Course Records:
Men category in 2023 was Tamirat Tola of Ethiopia with a time of 2:04:58
Men category in 2011 was Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya with a time of 2:05:06
Women category in 2003 was Margaret Okayo with a time of 2:22:31

Info provided by NYC Official Pedicab Tour, if you are looking for a relax and in-depth guided Tour of Top Central Park’s Attractions and Highlights, please book your tour online at this website.

Herbert Mc.
Lic. Sightseeing Tour Guide and Pedicab rickshaw rider at #CentralParkPedicabs

TCS NYC Marathon Sold Out
Guide to the NYC Marathon

Check Live Availability!